Pakistan-Sri Lanka ODIs to mark start of new cycle of ICC Women’s Championship

Pakistan-Sri Lanka ODIs to mark start of new cycle of ICC Women’s Championship

After the completion of stage T20I, the Pakistan-Sri Lanka clash will move on to ODIs, which will mark the start of the 2022-2025 ICC Women’s Championship cycle.

Pakistan will be aiming to continue the winning momentum of the T20I series, which they won 3-0, in the ODI leg with all IWC matches to be held at the same venue in Karachi.

This will be Pakistan’s first time playing the Women’s Championship ODIs on home soil and they hope to make the most of the familiar conditions.

Sri Lanka, on the other hand, hopes the change in format will bring a change in its fortunes. Visitors have not yet opened their account on this tour and they are hoping to create a surprise in the 50+ series.

Having missed out on qualifying for the 2022 ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup, Chamari Athapaththu’s side will be eager to pick up important CBI points early on to make the case for straight qualification this time around.

So far, the two teams have faced each other 30 times in ODI format. Head-to-head, Sri Lanka have a solid record against Pakistan, having won 21 of those matches and lost just nine times.

remember the last time

The last time the two teams faced each other in the ODIs was in 2018, when Pakistan toured Sri Lanka for a three-game CBI series. Bismah Maroof’s side put in a dominating performance sweeping the series 3-0 at Dambulla.

Pakistan set targets above 200 on all three occasions and even hit the 250 mark twice, while Sri Lanka only managed to record their highest score in the series. 181.

The visitors won the first ODI by 69 runs after setting a target of 251 for Sri Lanka. Javeria Khan played at bat, making a match winning 113*. In game two, Maroof shot a compound 89, again setting the same goal for the hosts. Sana Mir then turned the game around with her 4/32 spell, helping her side seal a 94-point win. In the last outing, the Pakistani batters collectively posted 215/9 before their bowlers outscored Sri Lanka by knocking them out for 107. Mir again shone with the ball, returning 4/27.

May 25 22

‘IWC have been amazing for women’s cricket’ – Captains delighted with new tournament cycle

what they said

Bismah Maroof (Pakistani captain): “In this edition (IWC) we will try to earn as many points as possible. In this edition we have to face the best away teams, so it will be a challenge. But having said that, it is important for us to to prepare and give the best of ourselves.”


Pakistan: Bismah Maroof (Captain), Aiman ​​Anwar, Aliya Riaz, Anam Amin, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Ghulam Fatima, Gull Feroza, Muneeba Ali Siddiqui, Nida Dar, Omaima Sohail, Sadaf Shamas, Sadia Iqbal, Sidra Amin and Sidra Nawaz.

Sri Lanka: Chamari Athapaththu (c), Hasini Perera, Harshitha Samarawickrama, Imesha Dulani, Prasadani Weerakkody, Nilakshi de Silva, Kavisha Dilhari, Ama Kanchana, Achini Kulasuriya, Inoka Ranaweera, Udeshika Prabodhani, Sugandika Kumari, Sachini Nisansala, Oshadushka Ranasinghe, Oshadushka Ranasinghe.

#PakistanSri #Lanka #ODIs #mark #start #cycle #ICC #Womens #Championship

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button